M340 memory area differences

suppaman

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the Schneider world.

I'm trying to code on an M340 CPU and i was wondering what's the difference between %M and %MW memory areas.
I thought was something like bit/word but then I discovered that both can be write with dot notation for the bit addressing.

Thanks a lot for your support

%M is indeed bit memory - corresponding to classic '0X' coil addresses. Each %M is one bit.

%MW is word memory - corresponding to classic '4X' holding register addresses. Each %MW is 16 bits.

You can put a period followed by a number to with %MW variables to specify a bit. I do not understand what putting that on a %M address would accomplish.

If you are using Modicon's excellent FBD - perhaps to avoid Modicon's less than excellent LD - you may wish to use the WORD_TO_BIT instruction to pick bits out of a %MW variable.

The free PLC class outline at corsairhmi.com has more details on Modbus-compatible addressing.

%M is indeed bit memory - corresponding to classic '0X' coil addresses. Each %M is one bit.

%MW is word memory - corresponding to classic '4X' holding register addresses. Each %MW is 16 bits.

You can put a period followed by a number to with %MW variables to specify a bit. I do not understand what putting that on a %M address would accomplish.

If you are using Modicon's excellent FBD - perhaps to avoid Modicon's less than excellent LD - you may wish to use the WORD_TO_BIT instruction to pick bits out of a %MW variable.

The free PLC class outline at corsairhmi.com has more details on Modbus-compatible addressing.

About the %M period notation I just tried, I wasn't sure that %M area was for bit only, now that i know ofc it makes no sense.
So if I addrees MyTag as REAL to %MW10 it will go on %MW10 and %MW11 right?