Misc question - feeling burned out from work, any advice?

slick_william

Hey guys,

Sorry that this isn't a strictly technical question. It's more related to work-life balance and time management. Hopefully some veterans from the forum could share some of their wisdom.

I am a pretty strong programmer when it comes to a few platforms... my company has put me solo on one of our largest projects and I have been handling it quite well for a few years. It is nearly finished at this point.

The problem is, I tend to overwork and overcommit, which leaves less time for my actual (non-work) life. This is a double-edged sword, because I finish nearly all my projects on time and do a great job, but then I sacrifice my own time to make that happen. It's not a big deal when it's for a couple weeks, but when it's for months on end of 60+ hours week, working 7 days a week and whatnot I can only keep that up for so long until my mood and energy kind of go into the crapper.

I think I need to set some rules as to how many hours a week I can work, and if I have to go beyond that then it needs to only be for exceptional cases and for very limited time. I guess I need to learn to let things be incomplete, and kind of let parts of the project burn if needed because I can't do everything, and I spent a few years at my company building my reputation, but keeping up the long hours is taking its toll and it's very noticeable to me and I guess I need to do something different.

Has anyone experienced something similar? And if so have you come up with tips or tricks on how to set a clear work-life boundary and still be successful with your work?

Thanks for your time, best of luck to you all on your PLC programming adventures.

W

I feel you. I was basically in the same position you were. I would promise myself I'd back off a little, but then projects and issues would arise and I'd be right back at it. The only thing I could do was change jobs.