Need Guidance for an Application

Vision2014

I am working on an application in which I will need to compare two PNP (or NPN) pulses, each of which coming from light sensors at two separate points on a high speed conveyor.

I need to compare the phase of the two pulses (Boolean AND function), and measure the pulse width resulting from the comparison.

I then need to use the pulse width of the result to trigger an alarm if the width gets too narrow.

The frequency of the pulses is around 100 HZ.

I need a low-cost solution that can send the result to an Allen Bradley PLC currently used in a factory.

I considered using a data aquisition card in a computer, but I think a low cost PLC like the Automation Direct Click series can do this.

I'm an electrical engineer with a background in machine vision systems and photonics, but with very limited experience with PLCs.

Any help on this would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

100 Hz could be detected by many PLC's standard digital inputs, and many PLC's have built-in High Speed Counter inputs. You might need a PLC that has 2 high-speed inputs. Some PLCs only have 1 or no high-speed inputs.

The Allen Bradley MicroLogix 1400 BWAA AND BXBA PLCs have 12 high-speed inputs that are rated for up to 100000 Hz, and 8 standard digital inputs rated for 1000 Hz. The Automation Direct Click basic unit appears to have 2 inputs rated for 50000 Hz maximum, and the other 5 are rated for 100 Hz maximum.

ANDing the 2 digital inputs together in a PLC program will result in an output that is only ON at the time that both pulses are ON. If each time both inputs are ON, you read the AND output and get no TRUE (within a specified time period), then it means the pulse AND combination was too narrow to detect. You could use that as your alarm output.