Need help in understanding when to use XIC and XIO instruction

shanky48

Hi,
I am new to plc and i was reading the contensts in plcs.net. I have a doubt. i am not able to understand when we should go for normally open contact and normally closed contact while writing ladder logic porgram.
hope to get reply for this and thanks in advance

shanky

I hope this helps...

Usage of the Examine On bit in a PLC program:
- this bit is used when you want a reaction when the hard wired switches are on, or complete a circiut. Ex: a Normally Open Limit Switch is connected to input one on the PLC module. If we want an output or an internal bit activated when the limit switch pushes close, then in the program an examine on bit is used for the limit switch I:0/1 this address or whatnact is connected to the icon that looks like two backward brackets with no line through it. This examine on bit is looking for when the switch is on, in order to complete the path for the rung. So, the limit switch is depressed activates the examine on bit that activates the load that is connected on the same rung.

Usage of the Examine off bit in a PLC program:
- Examine off bits work exactly the same way but opposite, so it all depends in what you want to happen, and what kind of hard wired switch that is being utilized. But imagine the examine off is the bit that activates when the switch is off, because it is always examining for an off.

I hope this helps .. I'll check back later .. Good luck :)

Shanky,

While working with ladder logic inside the PLC program itself, it is probably better to NOT think of your XIO and XIC as N.O. and N.C. contacts. Rather, think of them as "Active High" and "Active Low".

For instance: A flag in your program (M3.1) is currently not satisfied. You may want an action to be allowed in this situation but not allowed if it were satisfied.

In this case, you would use an "Active Low" (XIC) in your logic:
  M3.1    M4.0
---|/|----( )-