Need help with AllenBradley PLC data type conversion

Pandiani

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi guys,
I have no experience when working with AllenBradley PLC, but I hope someone could clarify the result of multiplication shown in the attached picture. As far as I know, the input variable is REAL and output is DINT.
But the result is really strange and it is not the simple integer part.

2023_12_19_15_36_52_RSLogixConversion.png

Obvious questions to ask:

Is this instruction currently being executed?

Is the Position variable modified (set) in multiple places in the program?

Great questions, but I don't know the answers, jut got a screenshot as attached, hopefully I'll have access to the actual running PLC program tomorrow and will know more.
At first I thought this is bit string manipulation issue (REAL binary representation vs DINT bin representation)but it seems not.

^^^this

A more important question to ask than "what is happening?" is "when is it happening?"

In this case we need to know when the displayed value of dPosition is sampled for display. If it is immediately after that MUL instruction is evaluated, then the result shown would be strange. But it is more likely that the displayed value was sampled during the time between program scan cycles, so many other instructions could have overwritten the value of dPosition between the time of the MUL instruction evaluation and when its value was sampled for display. E.g. this could have happened:
Untitled.png

It looks like you problem is in the conversion
If the source is a REA data type and the destination is DINT data type
When the function runs it must first convert the 2 data types to the same type
In this case it would convert the Source (REAL) to DINT and then convert the multiplier to DINT then do the math and place the result in the destination.
When the REAL data type is converted it is rounded off producing the effect you see.