need some help with micrologix 1500 and PV+

diat150

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello, this is my first project using a panelview + with anything other than controllogix.

I setup my runtime and design connections, and it adds the status tables from the 1500. I am trying to access b3:0/1 but cant seem to figure out how to do it. what syntax do I need to use to get to the bit level?

I am also connecting to the micrologix serial and I dont even have the panelview yet, not sure if that is part of my problem. Can both the design and runtime run simultaneously on the same comm port?

You will have to manually add the bit ".xx" to the word value that is showing in the status.

Yes they can both be defined. They won't run at the 'same time'. When you test a single screen you are using the 'design' setup. If you test the entire project from within Studio you are using the 'runtime'.

Remember also that RSLinx Enterprise, inside FactoryTalk View Studio, is a separate driver from good old RSLinx Classic, which RSLogix 500 uses.

When you're doing serial comms to an SLC and a PanelView Plus, you have to either manually stop and start the two drivers, or use separate COM ports on your PC. I keep a couple of USB/RS232 converters handy for exactly this purpose.

And to affirm Bernie's comment: you can browse to a Word level, but not to a Bit level in FactoryTalk View Studio. The reasons are lost to the mists of time, but as a practical matter you browse to the Word, then manually type ".xx".

Remember also that RSLinx Enterprise, inside FactoryTalk View Studio, is a separate driver from good old RSLinx Classic, which RSLogix 500 uses.

When you're doing serial comms to an SLC and a PanelView Plus, you have to either manually stop and start the two drivers, or use separate COM ports on your PC. I keep a couple of USB/RS232 converters handy for exactly this purpose.