NEw to Forum and PLC's (Off Delay)

Hello everyone, I am 39 years old and my work is sending me to school to get and Associates in Applied Electrical Technologies. I am in my 3rd semester and just now starting in “Introduction to PLC’s”. We are training on the AB SLC 150 (yes, obsolete), and I have a pretty good handle on it.

One problem is that this is a “hands on” class but I would also like to work on this at home. I have a “Free Download” called TriLogi that has a built in simulator, but it does not have an OFF DELAY Timer.

Is there a way to “simulate” an OFF DELAY? OR does anyone know of an easy to use FREE PLC Program that I can get that has an OFF DELAY?

The Project is:

#1. “ Start 2 motors simultaneously with a single Start/Stop Station.”

#2. “Pressing Stop or Tripping OL relay of motor #1 will stop that motor only, and 4 seconds later, motor 2 will stop automatically.”

#3. “ Tripping the OL relay on motor #2 will stop both motors immediately”

#4. “ Do not series OL relay contacts.”

Here is what I have: (The instructor requires all timers have a reset)

start stop OL1 motor1
-------| |------|\|--------|\|---------(m1)-- line1
|
m2 |
------| |---

m1 OL2 o/d 4sec
-----| |----------|\|-----------{RTF}------ line2

o/d NOTO motor2
-----| |---------------------(m2)--------- line3

m2 o/d rac=0
---------| |-----------------[RST]-------- line4

Last edited:
cant figure out how to put spaces in between the words start, stop, OL1, Motor1, ect.

I typed it that way...but when the thread came up, they were all bunched together.
My apologies.

Here is an excellent post from Tom Jenkins to simulate an OFF DELAY TIMER for an AD plc that hasnt got one

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showpost.php?p=3427&postcount=5

Here is a link for Step 7 lite software (for Siemens s7-300) also this processor has an off delay timer, the s7-300 is mid range plc from the brick type (micrologix, S7-200, FX0S) plc's.