newbie here needing some help

harmand

Hi all this is my first post and if you can stop laughing long enough to help me it would be greatly appreciated. I just started class this semister and already hit with this. I know it's probably a simple solution for everybody here but not for me, lol.
I am working with logixpro and my problem is, I need to write a program to simulate this.
I need to have 3 spst switches operate a light. I also need an internal relay bit in this. Simple enough.o_Oo_O

I did good with 2 switches but the third one threw a wrench in the gears...Thanks for any help

I have got it to work with 2 switches but when I try and put in a third one it will not work at all. Why would I need an internal relay? I have this mental block going on.
I have switch 1 with an xio and xic and switch 2 with the same in a branch. If I add another branch the whole thing goes south. I am not asking for a solution, just someone to point me in the right direction.

Well there are a few different ways of doing it really.

Depends on what type of switches you have and what type of contacts there are. If you have to use an internal relay bit thats not a problem either. Remember you can use an internal bit as an output as well as an input.

From what I have read about an internal bit, it is used to extend the rung. This has me thinking that I am going to have a butt load of contacts. The first part of this was to use 2 spst switches to control the light. That was easy enough for me. i used switch 1 xic and switch 2 xio in series then branched and switch 1 xio and switch 2 xic. It worked great. However if I added another branch and tried a third switch it all went down hill. So now I am thinking that because I am supposed to use and internal bit I am not going to be using branches, at least not in the way that I did for the first part. Right?

Greetings harmand and welcome to the forum.