OT: 110V DC Motor Starter

Saffa

Hi All,

Not strictly PLC, but I'm sure someone works with this stuff and might be able to point me in the right direction.

I'm designing a replacement control panel for a hydro generator, and the lubrication system utilizes a 12.5 HP, 81A, 110V DC pump for their backup if they lose the 3 phase 400V supplied primary lube oil pumps.

I have very little experience with DC Motors larger than a few watts.

The existing panel, built in the early 90s, starts this pump DOL with a 100A contactor and a 0.56 ohm resistor in series which is then bypassed by another contactor after a few seconds.

Original drawings also show a 7.5ohm resistor in series with another winding in the motor which is supplied with 110V when the line contactor is pulled in.

My question is... are there any more modern solutions for starting this Motor? 110V DC soft starter of some kind?

I can find a fair few Motor controllers aimed at 24V DC but not at 110vDC.

The existing panel has what looks like 2 x 1000W wire wound resistors for that 0.5ish ohm start resistor. These are expensive and long lead time, so am keen to hear if anyone has any suggestions.

What's generating the DC power feed? If its coming off the same 480v feeder somewhere and not some special battery backup, I would bite the bullet and install an AC motor.

I would investigate a DC drive...but...I'm finding that larger ones are rarer than smaller ones. I would still probably head in that direction. They generally have ramp functions that would serve as a "soft start". I see some offerings from ABB, but don't have any experience with larger DC drives other than replacing them with AC. Is that an option?
I know that Reliance makes a line of AC motors in DC frame sizes that are designed to be drop-in replacements for DC motors (with an appropriately sized/designed/tuned VFD of course). That's another option.

edit: