Panelview Plus 7 Basics

alive15

Good afteroon, I am new to programming Panelview plus 7 using Factory talk from AB. I successfully uploaded the .mer file from an HMI screen. I can "run" the application on factory talk ME and see the screen on my laptop, press buttons, and make the machine run through my laptop, but I want to open the project file and modify button names, move things around, add screens, etc.

I though hitting "load application" would do this, but all it does is place the name of the file in the description. How do I open it to edit it, then re-download?

Thanks!!!

If you want to edit the application, you need to use the Application Manager to restore the runtime first. Assuming that it was compiled to allow restoring. In the Application Manager, you select the bottom option "Restore runtime application".

What version of FactoryTalkView Studio are you running?

Edit: Also, I'm guessing that "load application" you are seeing is from ME Station. This software package is meant to allow you to run applications on a PC as if it were a PanelView, it is no the program that edits the applications.

Good afteroon, I am new to programming Panelview plus 7 using Factory talk from AB. I successfully uploaded the .mer file from an HMI screen. I can "run" the application on factory talk ME and see the screen on my laptop, press buttons, and make the machine run through my laptop, but I want to open the project file and modify button names, move things around, add screens, etc.

I though hitting "load application" would do this, but all it does is place the name of the file in the description. How do I open it to edit it, then re-download?

Thanks!!!
I actually wrote about this not long ago... I'm not sure why Rockwell makes this process this complicated...
https://www.solisplc.com/tutorials/...-factorytalk-view-studio-editable-application

In short, do the following:
1. Launch Application Manager.
2. Select “Restore runtime application”.
3. Press “Next”.