Pause a single step in Logix5000 SFC without pausing the whole routine.

radfahrer

Lifetime Supporting Member
Does anyone know if it is possible to pause a single step in Logix SFC?

I've searched for pausing in the manual and all I could find was the instruction to pause the entire SFC, and that instruction has to be called from a separate ladder or ST routine.

What I'm looking to do is pause a single step within my SFC without having to have logic in an external routine. My application is I have a mixing timer and I want to make the step timer conditional on the mixing pump running. I check for the pump running before going to the step, but while it's in the step, I want to be able to prevent the step timer from incrementing if the pump interlocks or goes off for any reason.

I'm a bit new to SFC's in Logix, but from what I see so far, the only timers accessible within the SFC are the Step timers themselves, and I can't see a good way to make the Step timer stop based on a condition.

I was thinking of trying to have some logic in the Action that would write to the Step.T value to keep the timer accumulator fixed at a certain value, but I couldn't see a way to do this...I'm running the SFC in a continuous task so I can't just subtract a set value.

My goal is to keep all the logic contained in the SFC. I know how to solve this issue by putting a TON in a ladder instruction and referencing that in the SFC transition, but I was hoping someone might have a more elegant solution that keeps all the logic contained within the SFC.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

-Greg

I've no experience with Logix5K SFCs but, I've tinkered with SFCs in Logix5, mostly offline. You say you want to keep everything in the SFC but would calling a sub SFC program and pausing that be acceptable?

When you're in a step you can reset its timer.
Write something like this into a non stored step action:

IF Current_Step.T>0 AND (pump_interlock=1 OR pump_active=0)
THEN Current_Step.T := 0;