PLC Analog Input Circuits

ImThomas

Hi all,
I’m an electrician with limited knowledge of PLC circuits.
Typically I will see simple 2/3/4 wire terminations for transmitters on electrical drawings where the 4-20ma signal goes through a resistor and then the PLC analog input.
Recently I have been getting drawings where the input circuit is more complicated involving multiple resistors and capacitors. My first impression was that it was converting the 4-20ma to a voltage but I just doesn’t make sense to me what the benefit of that would be.
I have attached a couple of photos of the drawings of these circuits.
If someone could point me in the right direction of what I should be reading up on that would be great.
Cheers,
Thomas

Most normal 4-ma sensors inputs will have no resistors at all. I usually only see that if a sensor is putting out x-y volts and they are connecting it to a 4-20ma input, or visa-versa. But caps no, unless they are trying to filter out some noise.

FYI No pictures were attached.

Pull down Resistors are used when driving LED indicators. The drive current requirements of an LED is sometimes below the leakage current of an PLC output.
But Capacitors? I'd be interested to know what those are being used on.

Running a 4-20mA signal, or a 0-20mA one, though a precision resistor across the input terminals gives the input a voltage signal

20mA & 2.5 ohm = 50mV
20mA & 3 ohm = 60mV
20mA & 500 ohm = 10V (0-20=0-10V, 4-20=2-10V)

In reality the analog inputs that are mA are actually voltage inputs with the resistor inside.

The use of a capacitor on an analog signal I have never heard of and IMPO would alter the signal

2nd image looks like a low pass filter. Most modern PLCs have filtering capabilities either built into the input module or with logic. What type of PLC are these interfacing to?

I think the images will come through this time.
Hopefully this gives more clarity to the question.
Cheers