PLC Controlling a Hydraulic Servo Valve

Bindasbanda

Hey guys,

I am new at this and trying to figure out a way to control the speed of a hydraulic rotary actuator such that it starts slowly , increases speed and then slows down to stop at the exact setpoint.

I am not willing to use an analog module as my budget is not allowing that.

What i am thinking to do this by using a Hydrolic Servo Valve . i have never used one before, this is my first time.

How can i vary the frequency from the plc (using pwm or pid etc).
I am using Schneider PLC.

Any other way i can achieve this? Help me out people!!

Welcome to the Forum !

Generally the way this goes is PLC -> [Analog Signal] -> Solenoid Valve Driver -> [PWM] -> Valve Solenoid.

Your PLC might have an output circuit that has enough power to drive your solenoid directly. Typical PLC frequency outputs are meant to be signal-level only, not power-level.

Has the solenoid already been selected ? Describe its size, flow, speed... anything you can tell us.

"Schneider" covers dozens of different PLC models. Post some details.

I've done hydraulic positioning with multiple parallel discrete valves; we had "1", "2" and "creep". When we wanted to go fast, we turned on 1 and 2. To go slow, only 1. To "creep" into position... "creep".

Do you have any position feedback devices on the rotary positioner ?

Allen Bradley has a special module for hydraulics 1756-HYD02
That module is made for linear actuators. The M02AS uses SSI feedback. One can get absolute rotary encoders with up to 17 bits of resolution per turn.

Since the OP is using a Schneider PLC of some sort the best alternative to the M02AS is our RMC75E-MA1. Many Scheider PLCs support Ethernet/IP if not Modbus/TCP so there would be easy Ethernet communications. Unless the PLC is handling a lot of I/O the PLC may not even be necessary.