PLC Program problem - Siemens S5 115U

hubertooru

Hi All,

I am a Plant Engineer of a Cement grinding and packing factory here in Lae, Papua New Guinea. I have a MEchanical Engineering background and am not very deep into PLC. I have only gone throgh bascis programming and Wiring Diagrams as every Engineer know.

2 days ago, my plant have experienced a pattern fault and the PLC Program turns to be faulty.

It is a SIEMENS S5 115U CPU943B..........

Can anyone of you help me with Clues to tackle the problem.

thank you

You need to go on-line & check the ISTAK, here it will give you the info on what & where the plc faulted (assuming it has Stop light on & no run light).
The chances are that if no one has touched the program then it will be one of the following:
1. Battery fail & plc lost power in this case it will need to be re-loaded.
2. Hardware failure this could be any of the modules or rack, istak will give you the address of i/o it failed on.
If it has stopped on program then the most likely causes are a call to a non existant i/o or a databloc is smaller than the address the program is trying to access in this case the likely problem would be in some indirect addressing i.e. a loop that scans through datawords & the pointer has incremented > than the length of the block, you will need to understand the program & what it's trying to do.

hubertooru said:
Hi All,

I am a Plant Engineer of a Cement grinding and packing factory here in Lae, Papua New Guinea. I have a MEchanical Engineering background and am not very deep into PLC. I have only gone throgh bascis programming and Wiring Diagrams as every Engineer know.

2 days ago, my plant have experienced a pattern fault and the PLC Program turns to be faulty.

It is a SIEMENS S5 115U CPU943B..........

Can anyone of you help me with Clues to tackle the problem.

thank you