PLC Scan Time Theory

kachow12345

Hi,

I'm new to PLCs and learning about PLC Scan times for Schneider PLCs

I've derived the PLC scan time using the free running blocks. The PLC Scan time of the simulation is 25ms

I've generated a 1 second pulse with a pulse counter using two TON blocks (500ms each TON) and a pulse trigger that is reset after each second.

I've run the program for 60 seconds and recorded the number of pulse counts.

I was expecting to see 60 counts (i.e 1 second pulse = 1 count, so for 60 seconds you get 60 pulses), however, I've recorded 57 counts.

Can someone please explain to me the theory behind what is happening and why my TON 1 second pulse counter is delayed by 3 seconds (3 pulses).

There are a number of reasons, firstly, the simulator is not meant to represent an actual processor & the PC will be running many other processes so although it states a certain scan time it probably will not be indicative of a real PLC processor.
also timers are known not to be that accurate as the complete bit will only occur to be true within the scan so can be at least one scan out each time.
The only way is to use timed interrupts & do your calculations there, but again in simulation it will probably not be the same as a real processor.
as you should be aware, most simulators will not simulate certain functions like high speed I/O, special modules & possibly analogues.
Scan time can usually be calculated by the number of instructions used & their relative processing time but that is a long laborious process.
I do know the Mitsubishi simulator in FX mode has a constant scan time of 100ms but on a real processor an average sized program can be in the order of 10ms, so I assume that applies to many simulators.