plc5 adressing is confusing the hell out of me

bornwild

hey everyone.

Can some one please explain the addressing. I am quite new to plcs 5. can some one provide a pictographic explanation.I have read a lot. The more i read the more i get confused. what is the difference between rack, slot , module group number. How do i identify the inputs physically by getting the I/O address from the rslogix 5 program. Please forgive me . I know there are a lot of threads but still I didn't get it.o_O

Please forgive me . I know there are a lot of threads but still I didn't get it.

you are not alone in your confusion ... instead of just rehashing the printed books for you, why don't we use a specific example for a hands-on lesson? ...

suggestion: go to the Processor Status on your system - to the Switches tab - tell us what Addressing Mode you're using (2-slot or 1-slot or 1/2 slot) ... then also make a list of what modules you have in each of the slots in your chassis ... in listing the slots use LETTERS instead of numbers ... example:

Slot A = PLC-5/20E processor
Slot B = 1771-IA16
Slot C = 1771-OA16
Slot D = empty
etc.

going further: if you have additional (remote) chassis connected, do the same thing for them too - EXCEPT - the Switches tab doesn't apply to those chassis - only to the local/main (processor resident) chassis ... for those extra chassis, we need the DIP switch settings from the chassis backplane - and the DIP switch settings from the ASB Adapter modules too ... (yes, you will have to shut down the system and pull the modules to provide that information) ...