PLC's and Safety Systems

bpic2881

I am currently studying for my bachelours degree and I am compelting a unit of PLC's. I have an assigment around Siemens PLC's with also some knwoledge questions, one which I am stuck with. could anyone help as I can find any straight answers on the internet. the question is,

[FONT=&quot]Research and explain why an Emergency Stop function cannot be connected to an ordinary PLC system. Discuss options for implementing an emergency[/FONT][FONT=&quot] system.[/FONT]

I understand the whole differnce between the contacts being normally and open and closed being reversed when it goes thrgouh the PLC but assuming that is not the answer.

THanks!!

Beth x

I am currently studying for my bachelours degree and I am compelting a unit of PLC's. I have an assigment around Siemens PLC's with also some knwoledge questions, one which I am stuck with. could anyone help as I can find any straight answers on the internet. the question is,

[FONT=&quot]Research and explain why an Emergency Stop function cannot be connected to an ordinary PLC system. Discuss options for implementing an emergency[/FONT][FONT=&quot] system.[/FONT]

I understand the whole differnce between the contacts being normally and open and closed being reversed when it goes thrgouh the PLC but assuming that is not the answer.

THanks!!

Beth x

you can search this site for this information.

however go to www.pilz.com
there is plenty of info there

with any safety device - ask "what happens IF?"

a 'hard wired' emergencey stop
1. if it is wired normally open and the wire breaks
2. if it is only wired to a plc input and the plc input card fails
3. if the plc output welds and stays on.

these arre some questions for you.

The main thing to remember is a e-stop should be had wired and be a input in the plc.

Not to sure what you mean.
Hard wired - independant of the PLC - Yes.
with an aditional input to the PLC for internal control - yes.

Hard wired into a "SAFETY PLC" - yes - but