Powerflex 4m Running Utility Pump

solano_79

Hello All,

I am a newbie and I am looking to learn more about plc and controls. To keep it interesting I decided to bring it into some home projects. I have a 135 gallon aquarium and thought it would be nice to build a transfer tank using a 32 gallon trash can, utility pump, and a powerflex 4m.

Utility Pump (item no.: 65836):
Pacific Hydrostar (Harbor Freights Finest)
120V
60Hz
8.4 Amp
Brush Motor

AB Powerflex 4M

My problem:
I keep getting a F004 Error. My understanding is this is related to incoming voltage being low or interrupted. I do not have the Powerflex directly into the wall but through a powerstrip. I have the out put wired to U/T1 and V/T2. I have the ground wired to the chassis ground of the Powerflex.

Could my problem be the pump is not designed to work with a vfd? Any insight?

Thanks,
E

Use a scr or triac controller single phase kind of like a light dimmer that has a 0-10v input to run to a PLC

Single Phase Drive

Just for clarity, you can get a 120v single phase input drive, with 3 phase output, but they are not very common. The largest you can get with an AB Flex 4 would be for a 1.5 HP motor. We used them quite a bit on small portable conveyors where I used to work. The 240v single phase drives make handy 3 phase converters for the industrial size saw you buy at an auction and stick in the garage just to annoy the wife...

http://raise.rockwellautomation.com...ents.asp?CID=471DC8781C7246B59357DAFB762DA330

Will.

Last edited:
Thank everyone for their responses. The Powerflex I have is a 120v single phase input with a 3 phase output. 22F-V1P6N103 Series A (1/4hp Motor Rating)

I thought I could just hook up the pump motor across any two phases and get it to work. The pump will run for a short period of time but than the drive will fault giving the F004 code. I thought I would have got a motor fault if anything.