Reverse Engineering

Hi all,

I am a young apprentice who knows a very little amount of PLC and don't know how a system works properly yet. my task I have been given is to reverse engineer a RSLogix 5000 program it has no FDS so basically have to take the program and write how it works. but as I have very little knowledge on Logix im struggling and how to write it. any tips would be greatly appreciated. :geek:

That would be the job for a seasoned programmer.
The PLC programming languages are standard, but the way to organize a PLC program can be very different from one programmer to another.

Unless, maybe the program is very simple and the whole thing is a test of how fast you can learn to understand a PLC program.

If I was in your position I would start here:

http://www.plcs.net/contents.shtml

That should teach you what you need to know about reading ladder. From there I would just work through the program using the help file to understand the blocks that you don't know. Then google and this forum is your friend from there. Just put your best foot forward and ask colleges who have an idea when stuck.

That would be my approach but I am also new to this world. Enjoy learning. It sounds like a great introductory task.

it is a genuine job that requires an FDS but my boss is testing me on how I know PLC code but I've never done a PLC code completed one myself so I am struggling to understand how he expects me to understand a program that has been made already without any help. another thing I forgot to mention is that the program now has been through a translation from Logix 500 to Logix 5000 and in the translation some words get messed up and struggling to understand it I've checked it with the 500 program and that comments are messed up as well so I am kind of stuck. (n)