RS-232 Communication with Polyscience Chiller

Mike Orgill

This is my first attempt at RS-232 communication. I am trying to communicate with a Poly-science Chiller using a MicroLogix 1100. I am using the AWT and ARD functions. I toggle each line to true then false but I never get any response from the Chiller nor am I able to change its set point temperature. Please see page 40 of the manual for command formats and the attached for my RSLogix 500 program. Thanks!

I cannot read your rs232.RSS file. Would you print your RSLogix program to a PDF file? (Set up your Report Options to have only "Program Files" checked, then under the "Program Files" tab, then select only the ladder that contains your Chiller RS232 files.) Post that PDF here, then I might could help find your problem.

I made the configuration changes, but have not been able to export as a PDF. The "Print" button is not active and under "save as" it does not give a PDF option.

Do you have your RS232 port configured the same as the PolySciene chiller (8,N,1,N, Baud Rate set same)? Do you have the LF (Line Feed) character turned off, with only a CR at the end of each line?

I think that ARL might work better to read a string up to the CR character (instead of reading all the characters that the chiller sends as one long string).

What is in the 12 characters of ST9:0? Does it contain a CR at the end? It appears that most of the chiller ASCII commands are a 2-character command then a CR carriage return, 3 ASCII characters total, except for the 6-character Setpoint command.

Last edited:
Yes, I have configured all RS232 protocol, except for Flow Control (this is not an option). I believe the LF Character is the 2nd termination correct? If so does this matter since I am using AWT rather than AWA?

I have replaced my ARD with the ARL as recommended, but to no effect.