RSLogix 500 - string comparison

mechanizator

Good afternoon to all. I'm new guy on this forum. I'd like to ask you for help with task like this:

My boss gave me a program to modification. I'm a beginner in A-B programming. I have to make interface for user management (add, deleete, modify, login) to some plc and hmi program. The user database has to be in plc program. It uses Micrologix 1100 series A controller. I'd like to ask you how can I compare string values (I created database that has in one ST file username, in second ST file passwords and in B file user level) - first I wanted to use N file for username and password, but there will be up to 60 users and I couldn't imagine how to manage this in N file. Now I would like to ask you, how in rslogix 500 can I compare two string values with one direct and indirect address. And also which function to use to move values from one ST field to other ST field with indirect address (I need indirect address to search through database). Thank you for all help.

Greetings to all.

Sorry I can't help with the string functions, but can't you just use N's for everything? If each of the 60 users is a number from 0 to 60, then their password is stored as an indirect address of their user number in another N file. Their access level is stored as an indirect address in still another N file. To be tricky, make them have a PW that is > 10000 (but of course < 32768)so that five numbers are required. So you have something like:

N20:0 = 0; N20:1 = 1; N20:2 = 2; ...

PW - N21:[N20:0] = 12345; N21:[N20:1] = 23456; ...

Access - N22:[N20:0] = 0; N21:[N20:1] = 1; ...