(RSLogix 5000)How the information in Analog Card can be linked to a tag?

yasamanvakili

Hi
I want to create a typical AI(Analog Input), because of that I should pull out for example the Local:x:I.ChyData for every channel(it will use for IN value on SCL to convert it to Engineering value). I have 74 analog input.
Is there any way that I can creat a loop to get the specific information (Raw value, fault status,..) from AI Card.
I'm programming with RSLogix 5000.
Thank you very much
Yasaman

You don't have to use the SCL in RS5K. It is done in the module properties.
You need to be more specific with your questions.
My advice to you would be to read the AB manual for the card that you are using, and if you have any questions, post specifics.

YASAMAN,

I'm no expert on this but I did take a class on the hardware side of CLX. I don't think you have to do any programming per se to get the values & status from the modules. This is all setup in the I/O configuration tree. When an I/O module is inserted into the tree there is a setup screen that pops up to configure the particular module. Once that is done, tags are created & updated automatically. All that’s left to do is put the tags to use in the program. Raw values can be scaled to engineering units in the modules I/O setup screens along with data update timing. With that many modules you may want to set the update rate to different values, so all 10 modules (8 point) won't try to send info on the backplane at the same time causing a traffic jam.

Example:

Module slot 2 updates every 25ms

Module slot 3 updates every 27ms

Module slot 4 update every 29 ms

You didn't say which module you’re using; they have different minimum update times for each.

Hope this helps. If I made any mistakes here I'm sure others will clear up any confusion I have created.

BD

RSLogix5K Scaling