RSLogix 5000 XIC, XIO, OTE, OTL, OTU (Beginner Question)

rockets1989

I am a beginner at RSLogix 5000 and in ladder logic in general. I am tasked with making sense of an existing program and reprogramming it to make it more efficient. I have a few questions.

1. I have a BOOL Tags named "PSC1107A_BLOCKED" and "SIDE_A_BLOCKED" that have a value of 0. In one of the rungs on the program it looks like this
rslogix question.JPG

When a value of 1 is written into the tag "PSC1107A_BLOCKED" from an OTE somewhere else in the program, will the XIC get toggled (turn green) and the XIO untoggle? If so, won't both the OTL and OTU "SIDE_A_BLOCKED" become energized? Is this bad programming or is there a fundamental of ladder logic that I am not aware of?

I asked someone that I work with to explain it to me and he said that these parallel branches are a way to make the OTU "SIDE_A_BLOCKED" stay true until the XIC "PSC1107A_BLOCKED" goes true and the OTL "SIDE_A_BLOCKED" goes true. In this explanation, the toggling of the XIO acts as a jumper until the "PSC1107A_BLOCKED" writes a value of 0. But this doesn't make sense to me since there will be two values for a single tag.

2. (Question not associated with the image) A rung has an OTE that is toggled because the tag has a value of 1. When this rung goes true, does the tag associated with the OTE receive a value of 0?

3. Same question as Questoin 2 except asking about a toggled OTL instead of toggled OTE. What happens to the value of the tag after the rung goes true?

Thanks

Last edited:
You have a fundamental msunderstanding...an xio and xic of the same tag will never evaluate true at the same time. So either the branch with the otl or out will only be true...not both. The green you see shows powerflow through that xio because the tag is 0...