RSLogix5000"s MSG instruction

unsaint32

My question is regarding RSLogix5000"s MSG instruction.

I am an automation tech. Our "Start_Command" bit turns on a motor. At one point, the motor was turning on without anybody triggering the Start_Command bit.

It turns out, the "Start_Command" bit was a destination element of a MSG instruction from another PLC... incorrect IP address issue.

By looking at the PLC project, was there a way for me to tell the bit was being written by another PLC through the MSG instruction?

No.

This is why it's best practice, when possible, to do a MSG read instead of MSG write. If this MSG write can't be avoided, one can also name the tag in more descriptive fashion: DATA_FROM_OTHER_PLC[0]

Harryting is spot on. Whenever I do comms in any capacity, I read instead of write wherever possible, and always buffer the data at both ends using tags named CommsIn_From_xxx and CommsOut_To_xxx. Then I use XIC-OTE or COP instructions to copy it to the regular tags. Makes it infinitely easier to trace.

Doesn't help you with pre-existing, bad-practice code, unfortunately!

I agree with the Read for however this is not the most effective use of the network bandwidth
When the network bandwidth is a limit then it is better to use event driven (Change of state) writes

I can't believe this is allowed. What could be the idea behind allowing for a tag to be written by another PLC and the tag having no indication of that. Sounds extremely dangerous.

Someone should submit an IEC standard request to make this illegal.

Thank you for all replies.

I can't believe this is allowed. What could be the idea behind allowing for a tag to be written by another PLC and the tag having no indication of that. Sounds extremely dangerous.

There is nothing inherently more dangerous about that than any other method of control.