RSView Studio => Siemens via ethernet

pwd666

I'm trying to connect my Siemens PLC to my AB PanelView 600+. I have the AB PLC conected without a problem. I'm not sure how I would go about starting to interface the siemens to the PANELVIEW via ethernet. I cannot see the siemens PLC via RSLinx enterprise. I was thinking to output the values I want to read off the siemens to a Database then reading it from the PanelView. Any comments on this? I am not too familiar with using databases with RSView Studio. I also have a database setup on a microsoft server.

Thanks,

Eric

ME, not SE

I'm no expert, but from what I can tell, you can only connect AB products to a PanelView Plus.

With RSViewME You are limited to the following drivers:
  • Ethernet
  • Serial DF1
  • DH+ (1784-PKTX, 2711P-RN6, 2711P-RN8)
  • DH485 (1784-PKTX, 2711P-RN6)
  • Serial DH485 (including 2711P-RN3, 2711-RN22C)
  • Remote I/O (1784-PKTX, 2711P-RN6)
  • Remote I/O (2711P-RN1 - PVPlus 400/600)
  • ControlNet (1784-PCIC(S), 2711P-RN15S)
and before you get too excited about the "Ethernet" option, the only devices that are supported must talk the AB version of Ethernet/IP. While a PC with RSLink (Gateway) will do that, I don't see how to connect THAT to a database.

To do what you want, you need to be running RSView SE (more of a SCADA than just an HMI), which allows KEPWare OPC servers, which WILL connect to a database (or a Siemens PLC directly).

Interesting...

Does anyone know of reference material regarding this? or software driver to allow this to happen?

I am pretty sure you can use the Kepware drivers with ME also. Check AB's knowledgebase or the kepware CD that comes with ME for more information also.

If you were doing the oposite scenario: Trying to connect a Siemens HMI to an AB plc it would have been plug and play because their is driver for AB plc.

Is keepware is difficult to use ?