S7-1500 turn on SF LED intentionally

grnick50

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello all,

I was wondering if there is a way to turn on the SF LED using an instruction in the program.

i.e. My PLC has no HMI and it has modbus TCP comms. I want when the communication is lost to turn the SF LED on.

I used Gen_usrMSG & Program_Alarm instructions to write a message in the Diag buffer but it does not turn the SF LED on.

Regards

I'm really curious if there's an answer to this. I've spent a lot of my career trying to get red LEDs to turn off on Siemens processors; I've never tried to turn one on before.

I guess you could call an FC that you didn't download? Or do an invalid BCD conversion?

This reeks of bad practice... I think adding a light would be more appropriate..

What I did to get the LED on is to intentionally write to a non existent PQW.
I do this after I generate a user message in the diagnostic buffer which says "Ignore Q 224 Error" this is a Modbus FLT.

It works.

What I did to get the LED on is to intentionally write to a non existent PQW.
I do this after I generate a user message in the diagnostic buffer which says "Ignore Q 224 Error" this is a Modbus FLT.

It works.

I have to back up boneless, this sort of solution sounds like the exact opposite of a "best practice". Do you have no free outputs to hook up an LED on the panel?

Personally I would never do that. As you say I could use a Lamp or a basic HMI to do the alarming.

The question was raised in a training class I was teaching for TIA portal.
The student asked if he could light the SF LED if a Modbus station is lost, in the same manner as when a Profibus station is lost.

Personally I would not follow that practie but I have to answer the question, of course noting that I dont agree with that.

regards

Last edited:
You can write custom messages to the diagnostic buffer that will be displayed if you have a 1500 with the small screen on the cpu.