S7-200 PID to control temperature.

Ken J

Has anyone done it with the WinCC Version4 software. In the Siemens manual they recommend using an interrupt routine to read the Analog value. They also recommend using an interrupt routine to do the PID.

My question is it necessary to put them in interrupt routines or can it be done in the main program, OB1?

Ken J said:
Has anyone done it with the WinCC Version4 software. In the Siemens manual they recommend using an interrupt routine to read the Analog value. They also recommend using an interrupt routine to do the PID.

My question is it necessary to put them in interrupt routines or can it be done in the main program, OB1?

I've never done it before, but in microwin there is a PID wizard that will create the subroutine for you , and all ye have to do is call it on every scan( use sm0.0 bit) and you can read the analog value.

I hope this is help.

best regards.khalil

I assume the reference to WinCC V4 was a typo - it's got nothing to do with S7-200 programming.

One of the key reasons for having the PID control in an interrupt routine is to maintain a fixed calling interval for the PID software. If you call it in OB1 the code has no way of knowing how long has elapsed since it was last called, and almost certainly this will vary on every cycle. When the code does the integral and derivative calculations especially, it needs to know the time period over which any change in error has occured. If this is variable and unpredictable, the calculations will be nonsense. Give it a fixed execution frequency (as in an interrupt routine) and it will be much happier. Similarly, the sampling frequency of your analogue signal should at least give some pretence of matching the use you're making of it. Sure, stick this in OB1, do it every scan whether it's needed or not. But why not stick with the manufacturer's recommendations? Presumably they have some good reason.

Regards

Ken.