S7-200 to C-MORE HMI - Tag Addressing

TimD

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi Everyone,

Background:
I have an S7-200 at a site that I am about to visit. I am not sure if the PLC has a password protecting the code or not, but I am tasked with converting the old Maple HMI to a CMORE. I do have S7 Micro/Win and a PPI cable (RS-485 to USB) available on a Windows 7 laptop, I will bring this with me.

The Maple Soft HMI is quite old, and uses Indusoft Web Studio. I have a development license for Web Studio and am very familiar with using IWS.

I have never programmed a Siemens CPU before, but am familiar with AB and Automation Direct. I understand addressing schemes and data types very well on those CPU's (and also CMORE HMI's).

I have the instruction manual from Siemens, as well as several addressing examples, but none for CMORE, and AD does not post Siemens instructions on their site.

Issue:
In the SIPPI Main Driver sheet of IWS, there are addresses that look familiar, but a bit confusing to me as I read through them. I cannot match the pattern in CMORE... Examples for different data types are:

Datatype----IWS TAG--------CMORE TAG (assumed, no exact match)
INTeger-----DB1: DW408-----VD408
BOOLean----M:B2.0----------M2.0
Real---------DB1:F1000------VD1000

There are (I)inputs and (Q) outputs as well as BOOL.

Help Appreciated:
Do you have experience matching CMORE tags to an S7-200? If so, can you kindly post some examples of tags?

I appreciate any help I may get.

Thank You,

Tim

Last edited:
UPDATE:

I see that the previous programmer used Data Blocks for addressing, which the CMORE does not support. May I simply use the "V memory" locations without referencing Data Blocks? Oh the headache!

Oh the headache!

I would love to help but I think your in for a bigger one (headache), I have worked on C-More's and 200's but never together and doubt anyone else has either.... if its not very large I think I would start over

UPDATE: