Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,
Does anybody have experience with Ethernet/IP-CIP Safety comms
between 2 different brands of PLC's

I have a project with
1 Safety Allen Bradley PLC &
1 Safety Omron PLC

Both look to have CIP Safety (inside of Ethernet/IP) protocol

That would allow Sil3 comms between them & not need to hardwire the safety interlocks.

I have >30 years of AB experience & minimal Omron Experience years ago.

Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Dave

I've done plenty of AB-AB safety comms, but never between third party PLC's. So unfortunately I have nothing really useful to add, but I'm interested to hear how it works out!

My "why" was aimed at Rob's input that a solution with different PLC brands will not be able to be certified.
As I see it, if both brands conform to Ethernet/IP-CIP Safety comms, I dont see why it would be different to connect 2 AB PLCs together.

Possible - yes

Certified - Most likely not
There are thousands 3rd party devices that speak "CIP Safety" protocol and we get certified in systems talking to Allen Bradley PLC's
Light curtains, Robots, Sick sensors, VFD's
So if the 2 PLC's will talk "CIP Safety" that would be a Sil3 rating

There are thousands 3rd party devices that speak "CIP Safety" protocol and we get certified in systems talking to Allen Bradley PLC's
Light curtains, Robots, Sick sensors, VFD's
So if the 2 PLC's will talk "CIP Safety" that would be a Sil3 rating

You would want 2 Different PLC's in a safety circuit in some cases, just like two different technologies of sensors. This would avoid commonality faults. Have seen the main system being Allen Brad. and the safety system is a Siemens S400 then the safety talks to the non-safety plc via modbus to report health status etc.