Siemens Step7 bit search

G
Hi Folks: I'm new to these online Q&A things, So please excuse my misspellings and use or lack of use of punctuation{or mispuncuation as the case may be} Anyway here goes.. I'm an instumentation tech in a textile mill. Most of the PLCs we have in our plant are Allen Bradley SLC500s and PLC5s.I am fairly comfortable with RS logix 5 and 500. Recently we got some new equipment with Siemens PLCs. I've been working at home with a copy of the Step 7 software without the authorization {nag screen but good enough to learn on} Now to my question. How pray tell do you search for a bit? If I look at my machine prints and identify an output I want to find in the logic how do I search for it? Sorry I am so long winded here I just want to make sure everybody understands what I want to know. Thanks in advance ...ToddM

Todd, depending on the approach the original programmer took, you may or may not find the individual output bits addressed directly (I haven't used direct addressing for ten years). But if it is a fairly simple application, you might be in luck.

From the Simatic Manager, highlight "Blocks", right-click, and select Cross Reference/Display. Once you have the Cross Reference up, you can select a filter and look at any data type you want (Inputs. Timers, Functions, etc). There are other ways to do this, but this should get you started.

Step7 doesn't have a global search like you are used to with the AB products. However, the cross-reference works pretty slick. One nice thing with the cross-reference is if you double-left-click a cross-reference entry Step7 will take you directly to that reference. So you can still find stuff pretty quick.

Keith