Siemens Tia Portal

Dietger1990

Hello,

If the date on the license manager of tia Portal has expired, can I still work with it? or is this just to keep the program up to date?

I am new to Tia Portal.

Greetings

Dietger

TIA Portal comes with a 21 day trial license. It stops working until you purchase a license once 21 days have passed since the trial was activated it.

okay, but if I buy an official license from them and the days expire, can I still work with it? because like Inventor (Autodesk) you buy a one-year license and you have to renew it every year to use Inventor, if you don't do that you can no longer use it.

If you buy a license it won't be based on subscription.
It is perpetual and good for life (unless you upgrade the TIA version to a new one in which case you have to get/buy an upgrade license).

Siemens HAS subscription options, I think mostly tied to the cloud services. You can rent a cloud VM for a month or a year or X hours, etc. It might be possible to buy a 1 year license for a laptop, but the default is the perpetual Floating License. It can be moved between computers, sold when you're done with it, used forever, or upgraded (for a price, but less than a whole new license) to a later version.

That's my experience in the US, though. They might be going to market a little different in their home turf of Europe?

ah ok, I think the license is quite expensive if you have to replace it every year, this is feasible for large companies, but for a very small self-employed person this is too expensive. but if it is long life, I will still purchase 1 license just for one year of updates.

thanks for the help both of you.