Sinking vs Sourcing Outputs

sgsims

I am a PLC novice and I am confused about choosing an output card for DC outputs. Unlike input devices which are clearly designed as sinking or sourcing all of the output devices I see (Solenoid Valves, motor starters) do not specify wether they are sinking or sourcing. Does the sink / source not really apply to outputs? I need to choose a DC output card that is either sinking or sourcing. Does it really matter, can I make any DC output device work on either type of board? Or should I just choose a relay type uutput board.

Any advice would be appreciated!

For passive elements (bulbs, coils) it does not matter if driving them output is sink or source. They only need to be connected properly.
However if you use some electronic devices with sink or source inputs then matching them with proper outputs type is a must (if you don't want to play with pull up, push down resistors).

If you are driving contactors or solenoids directly, I would forget about using transistor cards if I were you and use relays.

I normally use all DC output cards of the sinking type. This means I then drive LED type indicator lights direct from the card. The common on the lights is positive and the sinking output switches low to place a voltage across the light. Similarly with external relays.

I only use relays with flywheel diodes to protect the output card. The relays have to be wired the right way with respect to the direction of the diode or the transistor output will be destroyed.

If you will drive contactor with that card, be sure then your contactor doesn't takes high current. You card will burn (fuse). Dry contact should be a solution for you.

sgsims said: