Somachine basic v1.6 flow meter programming

auto123

Hello,

I am new to plc programming. I am trying to program a flow meter (E&H promag 50) in somachine basic to achieve the following:

1. Trigger an output when a certain amount of liquid has passed through a pipe. For this, I've tried a positive edge detection input with an up-counter but the number of pulses required (amount of liquid) is higher than the preset value of the counter.

2. obtain a flow totaliser

Can someone explain how to do the programming in somachine basic?

Are you using a high speed input or just standard I/O, I know that the E&H can be programmed to x pulses per volume, very often these are programmed as 1 pulse per litre so if the flow rate is not too high you may catch it with normal I/O, anyway, why not increment on a one shot a double integer
I have no idea about that particular plc software but create a one shot off your input and increment a 32 bit double word. could be called a long integer Dword etc. There may be 32 bit counters as well as 16 bit check the documentation.

It sounds like you may need to change the flowmeter pulse output configuration. If you are working in cubic metres for your "trigger an output" but your flowmeter is giving a pulse every 10 Litres then you've got unnecessarily high resolution.

If I'm expecting less than 3000m3/day then I configure my meter for 1 pulse every 0.1m3

Up to 30,000m3/day I use one pulse per m3.

That lets me use a 16 bit unsigned int and still have room for unexpected higher volumes (0-6553.5m3 or 0-65535m3 depending on pulse configuration)

If you can't modify the flowmeter, then use two counters. Lets say you can only count every 1L but you need to turn on your output when you get to 100,000L - so your first counter has a preset of 1000, and trigger the reset as soon as the preset is reached and the counter output is true. Use the first counter output to drive the input on your second counter. The second counter has a preset of 100.