Struggling - Panelbuilder to FactoryTalk View conversion

megatomic

Hello everyone, I am new to my job and working on a project that I don't fully understand. Here's the gist:

An older Panelview application assembled in an older build of Panelbuilder needs to be updated to FactoryTalk View. The original program was done in a version of Panelbuilder that is too old to import directly into FactoryTalk so it was imported into a newer build of Panelbuilder and then again into FactoryTalk. The graphics came through great, but in the process all the tagnames were dropped and what I have are aliases back to some PanelView remote I/O addresses. Here's an example:

[PVRIO]Tag_BI1_10_0-10_15_Bin

For the life of me I can't find a way to translate that to a PLC address (PLC5/20E). Does that address make any kind of sense to any of you? If so, can you help me figure out how to map that back to a real PLC address? Like an N or B, etc...

Thanks in advance for your help.

can you help me figure out how to map that back to a real PLC address? Like an N or B, etc...

STEP 1 ...

go back to the FIRST application ...

pick a well-used, easily identifiable, digital input BUTTON ...
write down its PanelView tagname – and the related PLC address ...
example: MOTOR_START_BUTTON = I:010/4 ...

pick a well-used, easily identifiable, digital output INDICATOR ...
write down its PanelView tagname – and the related PLC address ...
example: MOTOR_RUNNING_LAMP = O:011/6 ...

BE CAREFUL! and TAKE YOUR TIME with your notes ... trying to save a few seconds and making an error here can condemn you to HOURS – if not DAYS – of debugging later down the road ... PROOFREAD EVERYTHING! ... TWICE! ...

STEP 2 ...

now go the SECOND PanelView application ...

track down the digital input ...
write down its new PanelView tagname – IF it changed - and the new related PLC address – IF it changed ... write it down even if it did NOT change ...
look for a PATTERN in how the conversion was made ...