The larger the program, the slower Modbus becomes. (FX3U low-cost Chinese PLC)

GcNuc

I'm a beginner in the automation field and I've set up an automation system connecting several devices (datalogger, radio, etc.) via Modbus RS485 at 9600Kbps, with a PLC program created in GX WORKS 2. At the beginning of its development, it consumed approximately 2000 steps (out of a total of 8000 according to the PLC specifications), and I scan the Modbus using the IVRD or IVWR function along with a counter alternating readings every 1 second for each device connected to the Modbus.

The major issue is that as the program became heavier (consuming more steps), Modbus communication started to fail, and what used to take 1 second to read and write each device now takes 5 seconds for each device. The program currently has about 4900 steps.

I've already adjusted timeout times and set the transmission speed to 19200Kbps, without success, the same problem persists.

I can't find anything on the internet. Is there any possible solution or is it simply a limitation of Modbus?

I suspect it has to do with the amount of time the PLC has available to process the Modbus transactions. This is speculation on my part, but the PLC probably has a watchdog timer that gets reset every time it services the I/O. If the I/O isn't serviced before the watchdog times out the PLC faults out. The PLC probably processes the Modbus codes between the end of the time it finishes evaluating the logic and the time it must service the I/O. The longer the program, the less time available to process Modbus transactions.

I don't know anything about GX WORKS 2, but a quick-relative assumption puts transactions to complete, based on number, is about 4.2 seconds.

It's rough, but at least allow 50ms between beginning to end for each transaction to exchange. This will vary based on load.