Trouble getting Applicom Direct-Link and ControlLogix PLC to talk...

trax

Hi guys,

Quick disclaimer--I'm a major PLC newbie. :)

I'm trying to get a Windows PC to talk to an A-B ControlLogix 5561 PLC over Ethernet. Our goal is pretty simple--read some variables from a specific region in the PLC's memory. To do this, we're using the Woodhead / Applicom Direct-Link suite (http://www.woodhead.com/products/automation/communicationsoftware/), which allows you to plug a PC into a TCP/IP-based PLC network and read variables straight out of the PLC's memory. To be clear, we are not using one of Woodhead's interface cards--we're doing this through a typical store-bought Ethernet card.

I was able to set up the software so it can tell that the PLC's CPU card, located in slot 2, is alive. However, I've run into a snag--the Direct-Link suite addresses memory with a very goofy notation -- for example, "N5:1". The Direct-Link documentation seems to imply that this address should be intelligible to the PLC. However, when I've tried some different combinations (F128:2, for example, which should be valid according to the Direct-Link manual), the Direct-Link software reports that either the function (or the address, it's not clear which) is not supported.

Unfortunately, I'm a PLC newbie, so I wasn't quite sure what to look for to fix the issue. I tried looking for some hints about the memory layout through RSLogix. I can see how the variables/tags are mapped, but I didn't see anything that seemed to fit the goofy notation that I'm seeing in the Direct-Link software.

Can anyone suggest how I might be able to fix this problem?

Thanks!

You're barking up a wrong tree.
While the ControlLogix will support the N7:0 style addressing, most programmers don't use it. CLX supports tag based addressing, with names like My_Tank_Level or High_Limit_Level, etc.

Do you have a manual or a link to a manual of the Direct-Link examples?

OK, to the crux of the issue:
On page #10: