Twincat endless loop..

Pergo

Hello,

CX9020 gets stuck after about two seconds after booting. Mouse pointer stops, won't allow access through system manager (timeouts) or web config. Won't answer to ping.
I suspect the culprit is the autostarting program I wrote which causes infinite loop. ?

I'm complete newbie so I don't have that much experience on normal Twincat behaviour. Any ideas are welcome.

-Pergo

I've used this PLC kind time ago, it worked like charm, it had a problem with VISU and NC, which was unable to handle but this is another story...

If your device comes with Windows CE xxx or any embedded compact windows version then follow those steps:

Any PLC makes an infinite loop by default. If you add another one there and you need the PLC to be deterministic and to complete a cycle loop each n milliseconds then... you can imagine it... apocalypse happens... (This happened to me a lot of years ago... in my case I was coming from the IT world and placing a "while (true)" loop looked perfectly acceptable (of course the controller had other ideas).

The only options here are to remove the complete folder where the PLC project has been stored. You can do it by removing the media card from the PLC and deleting the Documents folder.

In order to do that:

1. Stop and unplug the PLC.
2. Remove the card.
3. Delete that folder from any explorer in your PC, phone...
4. Put the card back into the PLC.
5. Start the PLC again.
6. Wait for it to restart a couple of times (it will create the folder back).
7. Start again with all the modifications, parameters and so...

You are ready.

Don't add a WHILE (TRUE) or similar loop...
You can loop of course and this (given the amount of power on those devices will work for you) but you have to check how much cycle time is that loop consuming in order to ensure each cycle is processed correctly.