Unable to configure rs232 in rslinx

Scrabble

Hi i'm fairly new to plc programming. I'm having an issue connecting to a logix5555 plc with an rs232 cable. The linx and logix software has just been installed and hasn't connected to any plc using rs232 before.

When i attempt to configure the driver i get the error message "Can't find baud rate and parity"

I've tried every combination of baud rate and parity without any success. Is there some sort of driver software needed or do i need to configure it through the kepware software??? I'm at a total loss as to why i can't get it to work

Welcome to the Forum!
First of all, what type of cable and RSLinx driver are your trying to connect to the L55 CPU with?
Do you have an RS232 Serial Port on the machine running RSLinx or you are using a USB-to-Serial adapter?
You will need a 1756(1747)-CP3 cable and an upper tier USB-to-Serial adapter if your PC does not contain a Serial RS232 port; the Forum's choice for Allen-Bradley products is the Keyspan USA-19HS (http://www.tripplite.com/en/products/model.cfm?txtModelID=3914)
Once the above hardware configuration is implemented, you will have to configure an RSLinx DF1 type driver.
Usually the "Auto-Configure" RSLinx DF1 driver configuration utility (pointing to the proper Comm. Port #- either on-board RS232 or USB-to-Serial) is sufficient to connect to the L55 CPU's Serial Port if the default port settings have not been previously modified.
Refer to Chapter 6 of http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1756-um001_-en-p.pdf
for CLX Controllers Serial Port communications configuration/settings.
If all the above fails, you will need to connect to the CPU via a different protocol and verify the CPU Serial Port settings; the easiest way to do it is by inserting a EtherNet/IP bridge (1756-ENBT)into a Local Chassis empty slot, patch to RSLinx running PC into the Ethernet bridge and then trying to connect to the CPU using an RSLinx EtherNet/IP driver.