Upgrading voting system

Keith, thanks for the hyperlink. I believe that most of that discussion was concerning statewide and national voting machines. I didn't read them all, but that was probably much more involved that our requirement.

Bob to answer your question I am a 52 year old tech now enrolled full time at UAB in quest of my Engineering degree. I am not as qualified as most here but have dealt with several brands of PLC including AB, GE, AD and more.

I was not sure of what cost issues may be involved so I did not mention some other ideas. One of those may be using one PLC with networked touch screens but that would take some thinking before I could offer specific details on how to implement.

Is it standard in a voting process for members to be allowed to continuously change the vote, I would think it would be more effective if the vote was taken once by each member per each item. The reason I ask is it would create the need for a more in-depth program and/or create havoc with the vote tally and data acquisition aspect, which could be overcome but development time would increase. I guess there could be several reasons for this, people would see how the majority are voting and/or how their "opponents" are voting.....

www.softplc.com may also be of interest.

There are numerous approaches, I can even think of some that are all PC utilizing software and touch monitor terminals, no I/O or buttons involved. The referendum (or item to be voted on) would be displayed on each screen and the members vote by pressing Yes, No, etc.

Bob,

It seems that your task is to setup a voting system for a legistative chamber, Like Congress or a State House of Representatives???

Additionally reading through your posts, it seems that there was a change in direction from retaining the existing mechanical switches to installing touch screens. Great idea....