USB to RS232 conversion (not opposite) [WAGO PFC200]

Kardan

Good day,
I've been browsing this forum for 2 years now, but this will be my first post.

I have device with USB serial output.

I would like to get that data to my WAGO 750-8202 which has RS232/485 port.

Can rs-232 to USB cables work both ways?

P.S.: the device i want to acquire data from - internally has rs-232 to usb converter, but it is integrated on PCB and I cannot bypass it.

Good day,
I've been browsing this forum for 2 years now, but this will be my first post.

I have device with USB serial output.

I would like to get that data to my WAGO 750-8202 which has RS232/485 port.

Can rs-232 to USB cables work both ways?

P.S.: the device i want to acquire data from - internally has rs-232 to usb converter, but it is integrated on PCB and I cannot bypass it.

Serial communications is 2-way - so yes is the answer.

Be aware, though, that some of the "cheaper" USB/Serial converters you can buy do not work at the higher data rates you might want to use.

Others may have other recommendations, but I would recommend the Keyspan USA-19HS adapter, which is available at a good price.... I have yet to come across anything it doesn't work with.

Depends on the USB device. If it s not a device running windows or some other OS in the background that supports USB to RS-232 converters, I'd say probably not.

A USB to RS-232 is not just an active converter, it's an actual usb device that requires drivers and must be registered as a serial port with whatever it's plugged into. For example, when you plug an RS-232 converter into a windows laptop, it's not like you're just sending data out to a USB port and it's getting converted to RS-232 serial signal, it actually has registered and installed a serial device. If your device cannot support that, then it's not an option.