Using 4 to 20ma output transducers w/h PLC

I am new to programming and not very knowlageable about PLC capabilitys. What I am wondering is can one program set points to turn on and off outputs with a plc or would a separate controler be needed that the PLC would tranfer the information from the sensor to and then outputs from the second source controler routed back to the plc. I would like to utalize a single transducer,pressure,to turn on outputs which will load and unload one or more compressors basicly replacing multiple pressure switches with a plc connected to a single transducer any help in this matter would be greatly appriciated. I am trying to build a sequencer which would tranfer lead compressor at a preset timed interval and dependant on the pressure bring online lag or secondary compressor if the current output of the transducer drops to a certain leval as well as of course as loading and unloading the lead compressor with a higher output. I hope this makes sence. Please Email reply to [email protected] thanks

Katy's Super tech said:
I am new to programming and not very knowlageable about PLC capabilitys. What I am wondering is can one program set points to turn on and off outputs with a plc or would a separate controler be needed that the PLC would tranfer the information from the sensor to and then outputs from the second source controler routed back to the plc.

I would like to utalize a single transducer,pressure,to turn on outputs which will load and unload one or more compressors basicly replacing multiple pressure switches with a plc connected to a single transducer any help in this matter would be greatly appriciated.
REPLY using a PLC to "sense" the pressure via the transducer (4 - 20 mA output) to control the unloading valve should be fairly easy. You will need a PLC that has one or more inputs that are analog (4 to 20 mA 1 to 5 V etc etc)
AND you need to ensure the analog on PLC matches that of tranducer (each must be 4 to 20 mA etc etc)