vague question (maybe not)

taknevs

hi
i am a graduate student in electrical engineering specializing in control systems. i am interested in working with PLCs, HMI and all that stuff. i am still a rookie in the PLC field and hope to have a career in industrial automation.
i have built a basic PLC trainer with toggle switches and LEDs with AB micrologix 1200 for the undergrad students. i am right now working on a project moving objects in the stage during a theatrical play using mitsubishi PLC (FX 1N series), also I am trying to develop a simple HMI with AB PLC 5/20 using VB.
(enough of me rambling on and on...)
what i am interested (you could also say desperate) to know is am i still far away from applying for controls jobs. do i have to develop myself more before applying for jobs?
i know this seems like a vague question but being a member of this forum for about a month now, i know i can expect some really honest opinions from the PLC gurus.
regards
taknevs

IT doesnt matter

When you graduate, depending on college, GPA, and personality you will find a position as an EE. In the beginning you may like the position or not BUT you will learn things...hopefully. The future depends on you and your desire, the first job just opens a path to development/experience based on your desires and the basics you gained from college. The EE degree states that you are capable of learning at an above average capability with a desire to learn...ie you understand the concept of THINKING.

Keep following your path, never stop trying, learning etc, you will get to where you want to be. Maybe further.