Mimic panel

cindy guest

C
Hi guys,

I am trying to create a mimic panel so that we can see what is going on with the plc and the process. At present the plc controls 15 solenoid valves, there are also pressure switches and temperature probes that feed signals back to the plc.

I was hopeing that with care it could be possible to tap into these lines and create the mimic panel. I want to be able to put lamps on a panel that looks like the mechanical drawings so we can follow the sequence of events.

I then want to create another panel that can be placed in a production hall so the opperators can see where in the process it is and if there is a problem then we could see where the problem ended.

so for each valve that opens I want a light to come on and when it has closed again stay on until then next light (valve) opens.

I am a novice at all this and I'm not sure if the plc can handle it. the master plc is a FXon-40ER and the slave is a FXon-40MR.

Can anyone suggest how I would go about this, or give me some guidance please.

Thanks

Cindy

The easiest way to do this would be with a graphical HMI. This would let you match the drawings or even better what the actual process looks like. Using an HMI or screen would allow you to put it virtually anywhere by just running communication wiring. Using a panel with lights would require a whole lot more wiring but could be done, depending on distance and time spent I am not sure the cost would be any less either.

Here are some choices:
http://www.maple-systems.com/

http://www.exor-rd.com/home.asp

EZ Touch

GE QuickPanel

Hi Cindy,

What you want to do can be done. BUT there are at least a couple of things to be careful of:

1) As you suspected, each sourcing output is limited to a maximum current it can supply. If you parallel lights with your valves, you could easily overload any given output. Depending on your PLC, you could even overload an entire group of outputs.