Siemens S7 UDP Connections

S7Guy

Has anyone here ever attempted to use an UDP S7 Connection to receive messages? I have some fairly high-speed, repetitive data that will be sent to the PLC from a process running on a PC, but I've never used UDP to receive data before, although I send data all the time. I have been reading the various manuals (I know, a chore with Siemens), but I have found nothing that specifically lists the limitations and performance. I would like to give it a try, and would appreciate hearing from anyone else who might have tried it before. Just thought I'd ask. Thanks.

Hi S7 Guy,

I've no experience of this myself, but I subscribe to the Siemens Support Newsletter e-mail and it looks as though they've just published a whole bunch of FAQs relating to UDP.

The FAQ document IDs quoted in the e-mail are -

You can get to any of these via http://www4.ad.siemens.de/view/cs/en/ and stick the ID number at the end of this partial URL. So, for example, http://www4.ad.siemens.de/view/cs/en/19065278

Good luck!

regards

Ken

Thanks Ken. I will look at those docs. I'm kind of intrigued by using UDP, since it is basically free, very fast, and would mean I don't need other drivers (i.e. an OPC Server). Sounds too good to be true, which means it probably won't work. :)

Also, has anyone ever used SFC58 and 59 to make their own communications functions instead of using the Siemens communications library?

Nope, I've not tried that.

I've had a look in the past at some unprotected versions of standard comms blocks (DP_SEND, DP_RCV) which call SFC58 & SFC59, and to be honest I was quite happy just to shut the door again and leave them alone. I guess you can imagine the kind of thing - 2KBytes of STL all in one network!! As far as I can remember, the actual SFC calls were relatively simple, it was all the necessary error-checking and error-handling to make the code bullet-prooof that bulked it up.