Help on Experiment using Rotary Encoder

dylan_fc

Hi everyone

Im currently an student a University in the mist of doing my Final Year Project. This project requires me to make use of a rotary encoder to measure the Torsional Vibration of a rotating shaft. As I'm very very new to such products, I have no idea how to go about doing it.

The gist of the project is to obtain the signal of the rotating shaft with and without the torsional vibration. By taking the difference of the two signal, I would be able to generate the signal for the torsianl vibration at that particular speed. However, I do not nkow how to go about choosing one encoder that is suitable. I would need one that is able to cater to very high rotating speed, say 30,000RPM. But how to go about choosing one?

Lets say for example, I need to obtain the signal for a shaft rotating at 10,000RPM, how do you guys go about choosing an encoder?

Kindly guide me along..

thanks and regards.

dylan

Thank rsdoran

I have been to these sites, but they did not relate to me on how to go about choosing a suitable encoder and the steps and procedures in choosing one. Would u have any ideas in how to go abou;t choosing a suitable one for a given rotating speed??

High resolution is the key!

The more counts/revolution the better.
You will need something other than a PLC to this job, but once you get the right materials it will be very easy.

BTW, 10000 RPM? 1/6 of a rev/millisecond. Ff you had a 6000 count/rev encoder would 1 count/millisecond resolution be good enough.
I think I would try for 10 times that resolution.

Now how many counts/sec is that? I don't think you will be doing that using a PLC or a high speed counter card.

encoder

Dylan