You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 23rd, 2014, 07:34 PM   #1
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
Panelview convert PLC5 to Controllogix

I have a Panelview 1000.
Originally its was communicating to a PLC5.
I replaced the PLC5 with Controllogix. I have converted the PLC logic to Controllogix.
Regrettably, because it is a conversion there is not a link between the Panelview tags and the PLC tags.
Now, I want to connect the Panelview to the Controllogix plc.
Can I just dumb the database from the Panelview and convert the tags in the Panelview from PLC5 format to Controllogix format (example....F138:0 to F138[0]) then reload the database?
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2014, 07:38 PM   #2
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 5,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
I have a Panelview 1000.
Originally its was communicating to a PLC5.
I replaced the PLC5 with Controllogix. I have converted the PLC logic to Controllogix.
Regrettably, because it is a conversion there is not a link between the Panelview tags and the PLC tags.
Now, I want to connect the Panelview to the Controllogix plc.
Can I just dumb the database from the Panelview and convert the tags in the Panelview from PLC5 format to Controllogix format (example....F138:0 to F138[0]) then reload the database?
Yes you can, but it might be simpler to add "PLC/SLC mapping" to the ControlLogix (look in the "Logic" menu bar in RSLogix5000).

In there, specify the tag-names of the PLC-5 files that were converted.

eg. File number 138 is mapped to tag F138

The PanelView will still think it is talking to a PLC5, but the mapping handles the access to the tags converted from PLC5 files.
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
Everything works with smoke. Let it out, and it stops working.

Nil Carborundem Illegitimi




Last edited by daba; January 23rd, 2014 at 07:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2014, 08:28 PM   #3
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
I would map but I have 700 tags and you cannot cut and paste into the "map", PLUS every time you edit the Panelview, you have to edit the map and re-download edited map from Logix5000 to Controllogix.

It seems a lot easier to open the Panelview database in Excel, convert the I/O tags, using "find/replace" to remove colon and add brackets, then reload the database to the Panelview.

Then any additional work on the Panelview will not require RSlogix5000 download to Controllogix PLC.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2014, 09:58 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,928
The whole point of the "Mapping" feature is to use INT[x] or REAL[x] array tags and correlate them with PLC data files.

How many different data files are your 700 tags addressed to ?

I've done a lot of this, where I removed direct references to Timer and Counter accumulators, or re-formatted the way strings worked.

If your PanelView application is fragmented and disorganized, this is a perfect opportunity to fix it. It's painful but it will pay off big time in maintainability and performance.

What network is the PanelView 1000 using ?

Last edited by Ken Roach; January 23rd, 2014 at 10:01 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2014, 04:08 PM   #5
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
The whole point of the "Mapping" feature is to use INT[x] or REAL[x] array tags and correlate them with PLC data files.

How many different data files are your 700 tags addressed to ?

I've done a lot of this, where I removed direct references to Timer and Counter accumulators, or re-formatted the way strings worked.

If your PanelView application is fragmented and disorganized, this is a perfect opportunity to fix it. It's painful but it will pay off big time in maintainability and performance.

What network is the PanelView 1000 using ?
I thought that the only reason to use the Controllogix 'map' in RSLogix5000 was to link PLC5 addresses to Controllogix addressing. How would that fix fragmenting??

Correct me if I am wrong...but in an ideal world, the Panelview app would have access to the Controllogix addresses thru the Factorytalk-RSLogix5000 link? The I just drag and drop the addresses into the Panelview that way.
But I do not have that privilege because of the fact it is part of a conversion from PLC5 to Controllogix and even if I did it seems way to hard to go to 700+ tags to edit them in the Panelview with Factorytalk..

Doing a database dump from the Panelview app, then edit tag addressing with Excel and then reload the database sounds so much easier, if possible.
That is IF the Panelview follows a tag name/address setup (like Wonderware tag database). If the Panelview links use direct reference to the PLC address then that makes it a problem and I will probably have to use the map.

It is a Panelview Plus 1000 and I am talking Ethernet/IP to Controllogix.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2014, 04:17 PM   #6
robertmee
Member
United States

robertmee is offline
 
robertmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 1,464
I just did exactly what you're talking about on a ME project...Exported the database, and using search/replace, changed the old tag names to new CLX format. Knowing I was in for that, I used CLX names that made it easy. For example, N7:0 became SLC_N7[0], or B3:0/0 became SLC_B3[0].0. So searching for :'s and /'s and replacing with [] and . made short work of the conversion.

Now, having said that, it was only for 30 or so tags that I was porting over from a SLC project that became a remote I/O rack to a much larger CLX. Me personally, I wouldn't advocate making an entire CLX program in format of N7[], B3[], T4[], etc. Kind of defeats the purpose and power of tag naming in the CLX. For 700 tags, I'd probably bite the bullet and write the CLX program with meaningful tags and using excel, start replacing names....wouldn't take but a few hours honestly.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2014, 05:51 PM   #7
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
I am doing this job for a customer and have a limited amount of time to spend on the project.

If editing the database and reloading it will work, that appears to be the path I will try.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2014, 08:43 PM   #8
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 5,294
NetNathen, if time is money to you, and you are happy with your PLC5 to Logix5000 conversion, then simply adding "Map PLC/SLC tags" to your Logix5000 application is going to be the simplest, and therefore cheapest, solution.
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
Everything works with smoke. Let it out, and it stops working.

Nil Carborundem Illegitimi



  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2014, 08:55 PM   #9
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,928
Because we know it's a PanelView Plus 1000, we have the tools from FactoryTalk View ME to work with.

You have also identified one of the hurdles to doing mass edits of FactoryTalk View projects; the data sources can be HMI Tags or they can be Direct References to controller addresses, or a mix.

My first step would be to use the Project Documenter utility to look at the project. It will let you export both the HMI Tag Database and all the Direct References.

If you need to do mass search/replaces in FactoryTalk View ME, use the Tag Substitution feature in each Display, or export the displays into XML format, edit them, then re-import them.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2014, 10:26 PM   #10
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
Because we know it's a PanelView Plus 1000, we have the tools from FactoryTalk View ME to work with.

You have also identified one of the hurdles to doing mass edits of FactoryTalk View projects; the data sources can be HMI Tags or they can be Direct References to controller addresses, or a mix.

My first step would be to use the Project Documenter utility to look at the project. It will let you export both the HMI Tag Database and all the Direct References.

If you need to do mass search/replaces in FactoryTalk View ME, use the Tag Substitution feature in each Display, or export the displays into XML format, edit them, then re-import them.
Hmmmm....
I will look into this.
Would I use FactoryTalk View ME or Studio?

As far as my other 2 choices.....map in ControlLogix or edit Panelview database. I don't understand why everyone thinks it is easier to individually map 700+ tags over using find/replace in Excel (to edit addresses by replacing colons with brackets) and then reload database to Panelview.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.

Last edited by NetNathan; January 25th, 2014 at 10:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2014, 10:56 PM   #11
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,928
The whole point is that you don't individually map Address <--> Tag.

You map Data Table <--> Array Tag.

Much depends on how many different data tables your PanelView application addresses. If it's all over the place you might have a large number of different array tags to create. If it uses a lot of direct access to .ACC and .PRE sub-elements of Timers and Counters (or other structured datatypes) you will have to reprogram how those are used.

If the original program was well structured and references only a handful of B, N, or F data tables in the PLC-5, this could be a ten-minute process.

If you can post the *.APA archive file, folks might be able to help have a look at it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 02:40 PM   #12
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 5,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
The whole point is that you don't individually map Address <--> Tag.

You map Data Table <--> Array Tag.

Much depends on how many different data tables your PanelView application addresses. If it's all over the place you might have a large number of different array tags to create. If it uses a lot of direct access to .ACC and .PRE sub-elements of Timers and Counters (or other structured datatypes) you will have to reprogram how those are used.

If the original program was well structured and references only a handful of B, N, or F data tables in the PLC-5, this could be a ten-minute process.

If you can post the *.APA archive file, folks might be able to help have a look at it.
Doesn't mapping take care of this, Ken ? ....

example : PanelView application accesses T22:19.PRE

Logix5000 mapping : File 22 to tag T22 (an array tag of data-type TIMER)

mapping converts T22:19.PRE to tag address T22[19].PRE

At least that's how I remember it works...
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
Everything works with smoke. Let it out, and it stops working.

Nil Carborundem Illegitimi




Last edited by daba; January 26th, 2014 at 02:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 02:56 PM   #13
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,888
Here they are...
The *.apa is too big, but here is the tag database export. It is not 700 but 384 tags.

I attached the database with the original PLC5 addresses and the new database after conversion from PLC5 to Controllogix. Are the addresses converted correctly?
I have not imported the edited database yet.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Panelview-112713.zip (6.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: zip Panelview-112713-new.zip (6.3 KB, 9 views)
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 03:01 PM   #14
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,928
The "PLC/SLC Mapping" feature of RSLogix 5000 only works with two of the basic atomic datatypes: 16-bit Integers and 32-bit Floating Point.

It will emulate "B" and "N" integer data tables, as well as "F" floating-point data tables.

But it doesn't emulate any of the compound datatypes in the PLC/SLC, like Timers or Counters (or Control blocks, or PID blocks, or anything else that's built out of structures of 16-bit data).
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 03:11 PM   #15
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,928
The good news is that this is a very efficient PanelView Plus application.

It addresses only six PLC-5 style data tables:

B53:0, Length 1
B73:0, Length 44
F78:0, Length 81
N67:0, Length 119
N77:0, Length 165

and one reference to String data table ST79. That can be re-addressed by hand.

It makes no references to Timer or Counter or Control sub-elements, so that's not an issue.

You can do this either way; make five entries in the Map PLC/SLC Addresses list, or do the re-import into FactoryTalk View ME.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC5 SLC500 migration to Controllogix felmed LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 29th, 2010 03:05 PM
Panelview 600 and Controllogix KyleKyz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 17th, 2010 05:42 PM
PLC5 to ControlLogix Upgrade Steve Crotty LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 13th, 2009 09:58 AM
ControlLogix and PanelView RIO automfg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 11th, 2006 03:30 AM
PLC5 and PanelView booten LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 September 15th, 2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.


.