S7-400 and Step7

danielcarter

Good day everyone! Im looking for some help with regards to the Siemens S7-400 PLC. Im a student working on a tech thesis which envolves a conveyor and robotic arm assembly. My problem is that I have the plc wired and powered up and all the hardware configured to what i think is right. Im trying to test a few components with a simple program consisting of a limit switch and solenoid. when I download the program to the plc and switch it to run mode and activate the limit switch noting happens in the step 7 program(the state of the limit switch does not change)in monitor mode and the solenoid valve does not activate. but the bit led on the card turns on (input card) nothing happens to the bit light on the output card. any ideas to what may be causing this??? I need help!

A suggestion, get something like http://www.pdf995.com/ which will allow you to "print" a report of the Ladder or whatever program convention you are using.

You can then upload that pdf so ALL may see how you have written the program. This offers the most options for assistance.

If you can not figure out how to do that then post your Simatic S7 file, in a zip file, and those with the appropriate software may be able to assist.

Im using adresses I0.0 and Q0.0, the limit switch is wired into bit0 of the input card and the solenoid is wired into bit 0 of the out put card, my rack consists of slot 1,2 Power supply, 3 CPU, 4 CP, 5 DI ac input card, 6 DO ac output card, 7 DI 24vdc input card, 8 DO 24vdc output card, im wondering if there is somethinf wrong with the addressing but i dont know what to try

Daniel,

I 0.0 and Q 0.0 are wrong adresses.