Siemens S7 PID Control Problem

qee

Hello All,

I’m afraid that I’m new to PID control but what I have read on the subject so far leads me down the following path.....

I am programming an application to control the water level of a tank.
To achieve this I am using a PID loop to control a pump via a variable speed drive that is controlled by an Analogue Output 4-20mA.

The value that I write to the Analogue Output will be derived from a Siemens PID Data Block DB201 CONT_C after being “unscaled” to give the appropriate analogue speed signal to the drive.

I also think that I need the following values inputted into DB201 to allow for the control of the drive:

Update Time (seconds) – CYCLE
Control Level (metres) – SP_INT
Actual Water Level (metres) – PV_IN
Gain – GAIN
Integral Time (seconds) – TI
DeadBand (metres) – DEADB_W

Can anyone give their opinion on whether or not I’m on the right track or if I am missing further variable/bits that need to be written to the DB in order for the PID loop to produce an output?

Any advice on this matter will be greatly appreciated.

As I say, I am new to the whole PID philosophy and although I can appreciate what the overall outcome will be, I’m not overly sure of all the components that are needed to/from Data Block 201 to achieve this. That's if 201 is the right Data Block to use?

Many Thanks
Qee.

Just a quick thought as I'm not familiar with S7 PID:
It doesn't sound to me that you need to use a PID for keeping the water level in a tank, unless it have to be very accurate.

If it doesn't need to be accurate, you can choose to use a 3-point regulation rather than the PID, even though the PID is more fun getting to work.

have you ever solved this ?
I need to do the exactly same thing using sinamics S120 vector control.
I wonder if I would use regulation with certain points (which seems not to be that easy either) or pid control.

Any help/ideas would be much appreciated :)

qee said:
Hello All,