Zombie Box

i am very new to the PLC world! i bought an Omron cp1L PLC and it uses CX Programmer. i made a wood box for Halloween that has a air cylinder in it that I want to hit the lid to make it look like someone is trying to get out. So....

i think that this should be done with a series of timers to turn on and off the output very quickly. i have tried but am having no luck with the timers because i am not educated enough and dont full understand. is there anyone that can help.

Thx
JR

You will have to cascade some timers (maybe counters too).

I got a small example that should knock twice, then three times a bit faster.

Last edited:
this is great but it looks like Allen Bradley and i need it to be done in the cx programmer. i dont understand how the timers work with the Omron. there is no DN bit for the Omron timers or i just cant understand how to use them.

Tharon, since plcbeginner2012 is new, you should point out that your pdf is written for Allen Bradley. The principles should be the same (I don't know) but it is likely that the syntax will vary.

Worry, not, beginner, for there are Omron gurus here, likely to chime in.

I would code this with cascading timers, and perhaps a range of random numbers popped into one or more of them so it is not too patterned, and more realistic.

Hopefully a youtube link will eventually append this thread, this sounds like a fun one.

Sorry, I was in a bit of a rush to get out and do some work before the sun set.

I knew he was using a non AB controller, which is why I stuck to using the "Done" bits from the timer and counter. Rather than special bits like Accumulating, comparing values, or "Timer Timing" bits. My experience with Omron before had been pretty positive and the basics of the ladder seemed relatively close the RSLogix. I was hoping the example would show how to use a pair of timers to create a loop in ladder logic, by turning one on when the other was done, and resetting the first when the second was done.