Certified Automation Professional - Any Thoughts?

iadapt

Lifetime Supporting Member
I just visited the www.isa.org website and I am wondering if anyone here has an opinion regarding the value of such a certification and or if anyone has any experience with this group.

Thanks.

Ask yourself what is the value of US$100 per year and where is it going to get you?

So what is the educational qualifier for a programmer (if any) I worked with a recent Purdue University Graduate (majored in automation) who couldn't network the PC to the processor, he had never done it. This guy wasn't dumb he was in fact pretty sharp it's just that he hadn't been taught with a high level of hands on training.

Do most programmers learn from seminars? Does everyone search for a company that teach them (not likely to find one in today's job market, which is likely flooded with competent programmers out of work) Or is everyone self-taught (not a great selling point for an interview to say that you taught yourself) so to me on the surface a certification seems wise if not even necessary.

Any thoughts?

is the certificate from a certified group or recognised training group.
this cert. appears to be given by paying an annual fee.
A Basic 6 month PLC course teaches you how to use the easy aspects of some PLC's.
AB offer advanced 4 day courses.
I agree with the need to show some form of Qualification, but few choice questions and a simple test question or sheet will soon tell you wether the person knows what they are talking about.
E.G.
simple question - for a logic understanding
Do You Play Chess?
How many moves does the White Player have available for their first move?

Iant, I agree with the simplistic approach to using a few well thought out questions as a qualifier for hiring. However, if one were to take a survey of programmers regarding where they learned their craft I wonder what the answer would be?